about us

launched in 2008, the ukmvas has become the most important annual event in the calendar for the world of music video production, celebrating the best work in music videos and music visuals made in the past 12 months – from big-budget video productions, to visual gems by fresh film making talent.

the ukmvas honour the creative people behind the artform – directors and producers, cinematographers, production designers, choreographers and stylists, as well as colourists, editors, animators and vfx artists – all voted for by professionals within the industry.

for the past 15 years, the ukmvas has shone a spotlight on the next generation of filmmaking talent.
6 music video genre categories recognise newcomer directing talent from all around the world. the best new director category has seen winners including ebeneza blanche, aube perrie, arnaud bresson, duncan loudon, zhang & knight, matilda finn, oscar hudson, helmi, andrew thomas huang, ag rojas and david wilson.

the mvas has also honoured outstanding achievement in music videos with the icon award. previous recipients include jonathan glazer, dawn shadforth, hammer & tongs, jonas akerlund, jamie thraves, julien temple, joseph kahn, david mallett, vaughan arnell, jake nava and michel gondry.