about us

launched in 2008, the mvas has now grown into an event of international standing, celebrating the best work in music videos made in the past 12 months – from big-budget pop video productions, to low budget gems.

the mvas primarily honour the creative people behind the artform – from directors and producers, to cameramen, art directors, editors, animators and more – and are chosen by judges from within the music video industry. there are also awards that recognise direction of a live music performance, music video artist and interactive videos.

over the past ten years, the mvas has shone a spotlight on the next generation of filmmaking talent. previous mva recipients include romain gavras, eran creevy, daniel wolfe, dawn shadforth, keith schofield, shynola, david wilson, daniels, martin de thurah, canada, fleur & manu, dom & nic, megaforce and hiro murai.

the mvas has also honoured outstanding achievement in music videos with the icon award. previous winners include jonathan glazer, dawn shadforth, directing team hammer & tongs, jonas akerlund, jamie thraves, julien temple, joseph kahn, david mallett, vaughn arnell and jake nava.